skip to main content

Health Care Assistant and Assistant Practitioner information

Assistant Practitioners

Assistant Practitioners (APs)  deliver elements of health and social care that have previously only been within the remit of the registered professional (Skills for Health 2009). The acquired skills and knowledge will be required to be updated continuously with life long learning and development.

The JPUH runs an Assistant Practitioner training programme to enable the healthcare/support worker to become Assistant Practitioners. The course comprises of a two year part time Foundation Degree (Science) in Health studies and 25 Skills for Health Core Competencies portfolio alongside a set of bespoke AP competencies specific to each area. All Assistant Practitioners will be supported to complete the Cavendish Care Certificate unless already evidenced that completed previously.

The role is developing and expanding within the Trust with potential to develop skills and knowledge further with options for career progression and development.


Health Care Assistants/Practice Facilitator

To support the development of Healthcare Assistants (HCA’s) from appointment to the Trust through to meeting the subset KSF outline on then Band 2.

  • To assist with the delivery of the Trusts Induction Training and Assessment programme for HCA’s both with the theoretical and practical components of the programme.
  • To assist HCA’s joining the Trust with the orientation to the clinical areas and to provide clinical coaching (both for contracted staff and HCA’s registered with the temporary staffing. To support the professional development of HCA’s in order to achieve.
  • To actively support carers new to care and experienced carers in the completion of the Care Certificate and to facilitate any learning requirements that may arise.

The Care Certificate builds on the Common Induction Standards (CIS) and National Minimum Training Standards (NMTS) and sets out explicitly the learning outcomes, competences and standards of behaviour that must be expected of a HCSW/ASCW in both sectors, ensuring that such a HCSW/ASCW is caring, compassionate and provides quality care. The certificate also reflects how these behaviours are underpinned by the Chief Nursing Officer’s 6Cs (care, compassion, competence, communication, courage and commitment)

The Care Certificate Standards

  1. Understand your role
  2. Your Personal Development
  3. Duty of Care
  4. Equality and Diversity
  5. Work in a Person Centred Way
  6. Communication
  7. Privacy and Dignity
  8. Fluids and Nutrition
  9. Dementia and Cognitive Issues
  10. Safeguarding Adults
  11. Safeguarding Children
  12. Basic Life Support
  13. Health and Safety
  14. Handling Information
  15. Infection Prevention and Control  

Six people - two in white tops, two in red, on in green and one in blue - stand in a line facing the camera. The four in the middle hold certificates in front of them.