skip to main content

Our Paget's People Awards winners

11 October 2022


Outstanding achievements, dedication and quality care were celebrated at this year’s James Paget University Paget’s People awards.

More than 200 guests attended a glittering awards ceremony, held at the Ocean Room, Gorleston, on Friday night (7 October).

This year saw more than 360 nominations from patients, their families and staff for the awards.

Ward Of The Year winners Ward 22 - some of the team, who are dressed up for the event, pose in front of our Paget's People backdrop which is a gold yellow with dark purple stars and writing on.

Some of Ward 22 team, who won Ward of the Year.


The winners in each category were as follows:

•         Ward of the Year: Ward 22

•         Team of the Year - Clinical: Department of Medicine

•         Team of the Year - Non Clinical: Cancer Care Navigators

•         Employee of the Year: Dr Aban Dasgupta

•         Clinical Individual of the Year: Rachel Dance; Maxine Howes

•         Non Clinical Individual of the Year: Chris Callow

•         Inspiration Award: Dr Vinod Shenoy

•         Volunteer of the Year: Casey Shepheard

•         Apprentice of the Year: Sophie Pegg

•         Governors’ Award for Outstanding Service: Front Desk Volunteer Team

•         Partnership Working Award: Emergency Department

•         EDP Gold ‘Patients’ Choice’ Award: Tara Brown and Ricky Berrisford

•         Chair and Chief Executive’s Commendations: Katie Annison; Joanne Horne

For the first time, the event featured a Fundraiser of the Year award, which went to joint winners Christopher Liao, Vamsi Velchuru and Lokesh Surparaju, who raised more than £2200 for our hospital charity after completing a London to Brighton cycle ride; and Tara Kent, who scaled England’s highest peak on Frontline Workers Day to lead the National Toast to NHS staff and others who worked through the pandemic, raising almost £1000 for our hospital charity in the process.

All the awards were presented by Chief Executive Joanne Segasby and Trust Chair Anna Davidson, with the exception of the Governors’ Award which was presented by governor Harry Hicks, and the EDP Gold ‘Patients’ Choice’ award which was presented by Chief Nurse Paul Morris.

Joanne said: “It was fantastic to be able to highlight some of the teams and individuals who have made a real difference to our patients and supported colleagues through what have been some tough times.

“With more than 360 nominations, our Paget’s People judges had great difficulty in selecting our finalists and winners, all of whom did something exceptional that was recognised by a colleague, a patient or a family.

“I would like to congratulate all the individuals and teams who made it through to the finals by demonstrating their dedication to patient care and great teamwork.”

Anna said: “After a two year gap - and a virtual awards ceremony last year - it was great to be back at the Ocean Room to recognise the exceptional work of some truly remarkable individuals that make us all proud to be part of the James Paget University Hospital team.”

“I would like to thank all those involved in organising the event - and all the sponsors for helping us make this year’s ceremony so memorable.”

Paget’s People 2022 was supported by the NHS Ride of Respect, which sponsored the Ward of the Year and Employee of the Year awards; Carl Annison Paving, which sponsored the Clinical Team of the Year and Volunteer of the Year awards; John Sitek, who sponsored the Non Clinical Team of the Year award;  the Rotary Club of Great Yarmouth Haven, which sponsored the Clinical Individual of the Year award; the Norfolk Broads Lions Club, which sponsored the Inspiration and Apprentice of the Year awards; Farrans, which sponsored our Partnership Working Award; Bradie Hubbard and the team and customers at Tesco in Caister, who sponsored the new Fundraiser of the Year award; Mr Sitek also supported the Chair and Chief Executive commendations, which received a generous donation from RWE.

The ceremony included a three course meal for guests and a disco.

Sponsors Poster - featuring the names and logos of the companies and individuals mentioned in the text.