skip to main content

Employee of the Year 2016

Employee of the Year 2015

This year’s Employee of the year is Tracey Bareford, part of our Palliative Care Team

Educator of the Year 2016

Educator of the Year 2015

The Educator of the Year award went to Peter Ransome, our JPUH Librarian 

Remarkable People Awards 2016

The awards are in recognition of staff that really make a difference, for both individual and team achievements and highlighting the part each person plays in the patient journey. The work they do really does make a difference to the patients and their visitors.

The 13 awards categories and winners are:

  • ·         Ward of the Year - Ward 15
  • ·         Department of the Year- EPMA/Pharmacy Team
  • ·         Team of the Year - Respiratory Nursing Team 
  • ·         Employee of the Year - Tracey Bareford
  • ·         Non-Clinical individual of the Year - Perihan Webber-Kane
  • ·         Clinical individual of the Year - Melanie Taylor
  • ·         Educator of the Year - Peter Ransome
  • ·         Volunteer of the Year - Avril Dyball
  • ·         Apprentice of the Year - Hannah Illingsworth
  • ·         Sir James Paget Award for Innovation - Arivalagan Sivakkolunthu
  •            Governors' award for Outstanding Service - Anna Knights
  •            EDP Gold 'Patient Choice' Award - Sharon Plant
  •            *NEW!* Chairman and Chief Executive Commendation - Matthew Williams and Garry Berrisford

The winner of the Governor’s award for the Outstanding Service, EDP Gold ‘Patient’s Choice’ Award and Chairman and Chief Executive Commendation is always revealed on the night.

The ceremony was held on Friday 14 October, at Zest, Potters Leisure Resort, and included a three course meal, the awards ceremony and entertainment.

Chairman, David Wright said “This event allows us the opportunity to show our appreciation for staff and to showcase their excellent work. We have been overwhelmed with the response from staff, patients and visitors, who have taken the time to nominate those people that have made a difference to them and we are very grateful for their support.

This year’s event also saw the first presentation of the Chairman and Chief Executive Commendation, which went to two winners: Domestic Assistant Garry Berrisford and Director of Post-Graduate Medical Education, Matt Williams.                               Members of the Respiratory Team picked up their second major accolade of the year, after being named Respiratory Team of the Year in the summer by the Association of Respiratory Nurse Specialists (ARNS).

Team leader Heather Matthews said the whole team were proud and delighted to pick up the Team of the Year award

“It was genuine surprise when we received the award from ARNS – and it was a genuine surprise tonight too,” said Heather. “This has really made our year. To be recognised nationally is an honour – but to be presented with an award from your colleagues and patients is something really special.”

Clinical individual of the year Melanie Taylor said: “It’s a great honour to receive this award – and I could not have achieved it without my colleagues and family.”

This year’s EDP Patients’ Choice award went to Sharon Plant, for her outstanding and compassionate care for stroke patients and their families.

The award came as a total shock to Sharon – and husband Nigel, who works at the hospital as a cardiac nurse, was in on the surprise. “I couldn’t believe it as my husband told me he was in line for an award – but it was me!” she said. “When they read out my name, I thought they had got it wrong.”

Employee of the year Tracey Bareford, of the Specialist Palliative Care Team, was also delighted to receive an award. She said: “It’s a privilege to work with such a fantastic team – and at a great hospital, which has given me the chance to help people and do something I really love,” she said.

Chief Executive, Christine Allen, said: “Once again, this special event has given us the opportunity to celebrate our fantastic staff, who show such dedication, commitment and care, each and every day.

“This year saw a record number of nominations, which demonstrates that not only are the Remarkable People awards going from strength-to-strength but also that there are so many examples of innovation and quality across our hospital.

“I would like to congratulate all the winners and finalists – and thank everyone involved for making this event such a success.”

Trust Chairman David Wright added: “Remarkable People allows us to focus on the fantastic members of staff who help make our hospital such a great place to work.

“In an NHS which is all too often dominated by increasing demand and dwindling resources, it is really important to take time to recognise and celebrate the people who place the patient at the heart of all they do.”